ASX Placement Watch

Every ASX mining and energy company that raised capital in the last three months, against the price it raised at: where the shares trade now, how much cash the raise brought in compared with the company’s market value, and what the price did on the day and in the weeks after. Filter by commodity, sort any column, and open a row for the chart. Rebuilt after every ASX close. Free to read, no account needed.

197Recent raises against their raise pricecloses to
197companies raised in 3 months
116trade below their raise price
41below raise and well funded
68raised lower than last time
CodeCompanyRaise → last
Filings
Filings
Filings
Filings
Filings
Filings
Filings
Filings
Filings
Filings
Filings
Filings
Filings
Filings
Filings
Filings
Filings
Filings
Filings
Filings
Filings
Filings
Filings
Filings
Filings
11 more companies lodged a raise we could not price against
  • ALU ALURION RESOURCES LIMITED — raised through a prospectus or float, which has no Appendix 3B to read the price from
  • AR1 AUSTRAL RESOURCES AUSTRALIA LTD — its raise form does not state a cash price yet (for example a purchase plan priced when it closes)
  • KCC KINCORA COPPER LIMITED — raised in another currency and the form gives no A$ equivalent
  • KEY KEY PETROLEUM LIMITED — its raise forms were lodged more than 60 days before the window
  • LAM LARAMIDE RESOURCES LTD — no Appendix 3B lodged for the raise it announced
  • MGT MAGNETITE MINES LIMITED. — its raise form does not state a cash price yet (for example a purchase plan priced when it closes)
  • PGO PACGOLD LIMITED — no Appendix 3B lodged for the raise it announced
  • PR2 PICHE RESOURCES LIMITED — no share prices on file for it yet
  • SYR SYRAH RESOURCES LIMITED — its raise forms were lodged more than 60 days before the window
  • TOK TOLU MINERALS LIMITED. — its raise forms were lodged more than 60 days before the window
  • WLC WHITEROCK LITHIUM CORP. — raised through a prospectus or float, which has no Appendix 3B to read the price from

82 more companies lodged share issues that were not cash raises — shares for fees, acquisitions, options or staff — and are not shown.

6 companies raised cash through convertible notes (a loan that can later turn into shares) rather than selling shares, so there is no share raise price to compare against; not shown.

The rules

Placement Watch, explained

What is a placement, and what is the raise price?

A placement is a company selling new shares to investors to raise cash, usually at a discount to where the shares were trading. The raise price is the price those new shares were sold at. It is often paired with a share purchase plan (SPP), which offers existing shareholders the same price.

Why compare today’s price with the raise price?

Because the investors who took part in the raise paid that price. A stock trading well below it means those new shares are under water, and some holders sell them on, which can weigh on the price for a while. Some brokers watch for companies in that position that are now sitting on a lot of fresh cash, on the view that the cash lets them get on with their projects. This board shows the numbers; it does not say which way any stock will go.

What does "Cash / value" mean?

The money the raise brings in, as a percentage of what the whole company is worth on the market today. A 40% figure means the cash raised is worth nearly half the company. Market value is shares on issue multiplied by the last closing price; the shares figure is the last one the ASX reported, so it may not yet include the newly issued shares.

Why does it say "up to" next to some amounts?

A share purchase plan or entitlement offer has a maximum, but how much is actually taken up is not known until it closes. Those amounts are shown at their maximum and marked "up to", so they are never presented as more certain than they are. The same mark goes on a placement whose later tranche is not issued yet (often waiting on a shareholder vote); open the row to see how much the company’s own quotation forms say has been issued so far.

What do the raise-day and +22 session moves measure?

The share price change from the close before the raise was announced to the close on the raise day, and to the close 22 trading sessions (about a month) later. "halt" means the shares did not trade that day, usually because of a trading halt while the raise was arranged.

What does "vs last raise" mean?

Whether the company raised money at a higher or lower value than the time before. Each raise is valued as the raise price times the shares on issue just before it, and compared with the company’s previous raise since January last year. It compares value, not share price: if a company consolidates ten shares into one, its share price jumps tenfold but its value does not, so a share-price comparison would show a lower raise as a big rise. Open a row to see every raise and its value.

Which raises are on the board?

Mining and energy companies that raised cash by selling new shares and whose raise was announced, or completed, in the last three months. A raise announced a little earlier is included when its shares were issued inside those three months, which is why a few raise dates fall before the window. One raise is one row: later forms that update it or add a second tranche are folded into it. Left out, and counted at the foot of the board: shares issued for fees, staff, acquisitions or debts rather than cash, and money raised through convertible notes (a loan that can later turn into shares), because neither has a share price to compare against. A company counts as a resource company when it files the ASX quarterly report for mining and oil and gas explorers (the Appendix 5B), or its own forms and announcements show it is one.

What do the graphs show?

The GRAPHS button opens seven views of the same companies the table is showing, after any filter you picked: how many sit above or below their raise price; each company placed by its discount and by how much cash it raised; where shares typically stood a day, a week and a month after a raise; each commodity side by side; the cash raised week by week; this raise against the last one; and the biggest raises. Press a bar or a dot to list the companies behind it, and a company to open its row.

Where do the numbers come from?

The raise price and share count come from the company’s Appendix 3B, the standard form every ASX company lodges for a proposed issue of shares; each row links to the form it was read from. Shares on issue come from the company’s Appendix 2A, the form lodged when new shares start trading. Prices are end-of-day closes. Nothing here is a live price, and nothing here is advice.

Not financial advice. Catalyst Ahead is an AI-driven research tool. All projections are inferences from public company announcements. Always do your own research and consult a licensed adviser before trading.